New Year: A welcome, some goals and an explanation

What a cliche I am. Starting a new blog on the 1st of January, I should be ashamed of myself. But I’m not, in fact I’m really quite proud of myself for taking this leap.

I had wanted to put myself out there on some sort of platform and I just wasn’t quite sure how to go about it. I was tempted by YouTube, but found the whole expensive cameras and editing software stuff a bit daunting… so instead, inspired by my friend Ella, I decided to start a blog.

To kick it off I’m going to ease you in with my hopes, goals and aspirations for the new year. I choose these words as I feel that if at any point I fall off the band wagon (which is inevitable; perfection for 365 days is impossible if you ask me!) I won’t feel defeated, as they aren’t quite resolutions. So here are my hopes for 2017, and my thinking behind each one.

  1. To continue with my veganism: I am a new vegan, and still trying to find my feet. But if I have but one goal for the new year it is to continue with my vegan lifestyle. I want to save more animals, be kind to my body, look after my (very sensitive) stomach and help the planet.
  2. To meditate everyday: Another cliche! But the benefits of meditation are so plentiful I can ignore it no longer. The universe has been telling me to meditate through every medium open to me. It is so important to have some time out from the chaos that is life, and I want to live a more relaxing lifestyle… also, I want to know if it is really as life changing as everyone says it is.
  3. To manage my money better: Being good with ones finances is such a life skill, and one I have happily ignored for too long now. Since one of my friends told me that our student overdrafts are just future money, I have really taken it on board. Being in a tight spot with money is an unnecessary stress I have brought upon myself, and since I got myself into this mess, I pledge this year to try and reduce my emotionally fueled shopping and get myself out of this money trap.
  4. To be able to do splits, handstands and headstands: Hmm, this is a bit of an odd one. I have always wanted to be flexible and watching gymnasts, dancers, yogis etc bend their body beautifully has always made me envious. It is a strength and flexibility milestone I hope to achieve this year.
  5. To be more enthusiastic and efficient with uni work: Another method of reducing unnecessary stress upon myself. If we are all going to be up to our eyeballs in student debt after our degrees, it only makes sense to make the most out of our time and work hard to get a degree which will help pay off that mountain of debt.
  6. To drink more water: because the benefits are endless.
  7. To love my body and myself: Because punishing myself doesn’t change anything, it just makes matters worse.We only get one body and so change which can be changed and love which cannot.
  8. To write this blog: …so I am already off to a good start!
2 thoughts on “New Year: A welcome, some goals and an explanation

Leave a Reply

