Kit’s Kitchen: Vegan Ginger Biscuits

I have always loved ginger biscuits. In fact, I think they were the first thing I baked completely on my own.

When I went vegan, I was thrilled to hear that the ginger nuts you buy in shops were vegan-friendly. While I love them for everyday occurrences, I really did miss baking, especially making these, which had become somewhat of my signature recipe over the years. The discovery of egg-replacer has meant that I have been able to adapt this recipe so it is vegan-friendly. So without further ado; here is my recipe to vegan ginger biscuits.

You will need: 

350g Plain flour

2-3 teaspoons of ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

100g of soft butter (I use sunflower butter by the brand Pure)

175g of soft light brown sugar

1 eggs worth of egg replacer

4 tablespoons of golden syrup

Method: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees
  2. Sift flour, ginger, cinnamon and bicarbonate of soda into a large bowl. The recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of ginger, but sometimes I like a bit more of a kick in my biscuits.
  3. Cut the butter into chunks and add to the mix. Use the tips of your fingers to rub together the flour mixture and butter until it forms the consistency of breadcrumbs.
  4. Sift the sugar and stir it in.
  5. Mix up the egg replacer to the measurements required on the box in a separate bowl. I use Orgran egg replacer which calls for 5g of egg replacer and 30ml of water per egg required.
  6. Heat a metal spoon over the stove, and once warm use to scoop out the golden syrup and add to the mixed egg replacer. I heat the spoon as it helps the syrup run off the spoon into the bowl, less mess and less stress.
  7. Gently whisk the egg replacer and syrup together until combined, then add to the main mixture.
  8. Using a metal spoon, stir the mixture until fully combined.
  9. Once fully mixed, lightly dust a clean surface with plain flour and place the biscuit mix on top.
  10. Knead the mixture until fully combined, remember to keep adding more flour to the surface if it begins to stick.
  11. Break the mixture in half and roll out the first half using a rolling pin to your desired thickness. I prefer my biscuits to be slightly thicker than some so they have that chewy, doughy consistency.
  12. Cut out your biscuits using your chosen cookie cutter and place them on a greased baking tray, with a couple of inches space between each biscuits.
  13. Place the biscuits into the oven and cook for around 10-12 minutes, depending on how crunchy you like your biscuits.
  14. Wait for them to cool once removing them from the oven, and either eat them straight away or ice and decorate them.

Et voila, easy peasy vegan biscuits.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Kit’s Kitchen: Vegan Ginger Biscuits

Leave a Reply

